May 2020 Music Schedule

May 2020 Music Schedule

Friday, May 1, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $12
Massimo Farao Trio
Massimo Farao, piano; Nicola Barbon, bass; Bill Goodwin, drums


Saturday, May 2, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $15
Emily Braden Quartet – You may have seen Emily on Feb 15, when she subbed for Marianne – huge success – if you didn’t see her then, don’t miss her now!
Emily Braden, vocals; Josh Richman, piano; John Sims, bass; Chris Smith, drums

With a new album currently in the works, Emily Braden is electrifying NYC and international audiences with her fresh, soulful sound and powerful stage presence.  “Winner of New York City’s ‘Best of the Best’ Jazzmobile Vocal Competition, this Harlem-based vocalist keeps her feet planted in the jazz tradition while effortlessly incorporating soul, funk, latin and pop genres. No two shows are the same. See Braden live and she’ll make you a believer.

 


Sunday, May 3, 5 to 8 pm, music charge $12
Denny Carrig Quartet
Denny Carrig, vocals; 


Thursday, May 7, 8 to 11 pm, no music charge
Jazz Jam with Bill Washer & Friends
Trio, 8 to 9; Jam 9 to 11


Friday, May 8, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $12
Zach Brock Quartet
Zach Brock, violin; Justin Stanton, piano; Matt Aronoff, bass; Ross Pederson, drums


Saturday, May 9, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $15
Nancy & Spencer Reed
Nancy Reed, vocals, bass; Spencer Reed, vocals, guitar


Sunday, May 10 , 5 to 8 pm, music charge
Brenda Earle Stokes Trio
Brenda Earle Stokes, vocals, piano; Evan Gregor, bass; Ross Pederson, drums


Monday, May 11 – COTA General Meeting, 6:30 pm, Deer Head Inn
Meetings are informal and friendly. Come meet the people involved with planning this year’s festival. Your suggestions and comments are always welcome and if you have a desire to participate COTA can always use volunteers to help with various tasks during the year and during the festival weekend.


Thursday, May 14, 8 to 11 pm, no music charge
Jazz Jam with Bill Washer & Friends
Trio, 8 to 9; Jam 9 to 11


Friday, May 15, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $12
Stephanie Nakasian Trio
Stephanie Nakasian, vocals; Matt Baker, piano; Karl Kimmel, bass


Saturday, May 16, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $15
Five Play
Janelle Reichman, tenor saxophone, clarinet; Jami Dauber, trumpet; Tomoko Ohno, piano; Noriko Ueda, bass; Sherrie Maricle, drums, cymbals


Sunday, May 17, 5 to 8 pm, music charge $15
Bill Charlap, Solo Piano


Monday, May 18, music 7 to 9:30; doors open at 6 pm; $12 music charge
Sam Pacetti – Solo Guitar & Vocals

Sam Pacetti is one who brings it all together. A fingerstyle guitar wizard. A deft songwriter, capable of haunting depth and wry humor in the space of one song. A impassioned and ecstatic vocalist, as well as a mesmerizing live performer, seamlessly melding head-spinning guitar pyrotechnics and raw emotion into one breathtaking package.


Thursday, May 21, 8 to 11 pm, no music charge
Jazz Jam with Bill Washer & Friends
Trio, 8 to 9; Jam 9 to 11


Friday, May 22, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $15
Marianne Solivan Quartet
Marianne Solivan, vocals; Josh Richman, piano; John Sims, bass; Chris Smith, drums


Saturday, May 23, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $15/$8 after 9:30
Quandrangle
Greg Osby, saxophone; Marc Copland, piano; Drew Gress, bass; Michael Stephans, drums


Sunday, May 24, 5 to 8 pm, music charge $12
Evan Gregor Quintet
Jay Rattman, saxophone, clarinet; Matt Vashlishan, saxophone; Bobby Avey, piano; Evan Gregor, bass; Mark Ferber, drums


Monday, May 25, 7:30 to 10:30, music charge $12
The Water Gap Jazz Orchestra directed by Matt Vashlishan – an 18 piece ensemble of local professionals performing original and arranged music from all eras


Thursday, May 28, 8 to 11 pm, no music charge
Jazz Jam with Bill Washer & Friends
Trio, 8 to 9; Jam 9 to 11


Friday, May 29, 7 to 11 pm, music charge $12
Erin McClelland Band
Erin McClelland, guitar, vocals; Spencer Reed, guitar, vocals; Tony Marino, bass; Daniel Gonzalez, drums


Saturday, May 30, 7 to 11 pm, music charge
Dave Liebman, Vaughn Stoffey


Sunday, May 31, 5 to 8 pm, $10 suggested donation
Music in the Key of E: Remembering Eilsa Chase with an Evening of Stories and Jazz
Fundraiser to benefit East Stroudsburg Fire Department